Archive

Archive for the ‘scam’ Category

China and asia domain scam!

March 11th, 2010 admin View Comments

Yesterday, one of my clients used the “emergency” phone number to contact me to tell me that some company in Asia had registered his domain and what can we do about it to get it back. (i.e. he got an email somewhat like this). Today I get this email, normally I ignore them, but since my client bought it, I thought I should have it indexed by Google in case anyone decides to Google this company.

Hopefully this company can now save my domain from the evil Hong Kong Da Tai Co out to steal my Internet Brand.

Stay tuned!

On Thu, Mar 11, 2010 at 12:04 AM, brian wrote:

Dear Manager

We are Shanghai Information Technology Co.,Ltd, an Service organization of Internet in China. Yesterday our registration department received an application form from Hong Kong Da Tai Co.,Ltd, They have to register internet brand ( gullible.com ) and some in China and Asia’s domain name.

But we found that Hong Kong Da Tai Co.,Ltd is not the original owner of the brand and trademark, and we realized that the brand and trademark belong to your company after confirmation. I need confirm a question with you that whether you authorized Hong Kong Da Tai Co.,Ltd to register these domain name. If you had done that, We will work procedures in accordance with the company to help them complete the registration, If not authorized, the registration of these domain name will bring your company some confusion, conflict of the market.

Please let me know whether you need protect these domain name, I need your answer to do the next step work.

Thank you with my work.
Brian Wang

Registration Department Manager

Tel:+86-21-6296-2950

Fax:+86-21-6296-1557

Email:brian@ygurl.cn

Internet:www.ygurl.cn

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Hello Mr. Wang

OMG OMG This cant be happening!

I want them back that company cant have them!.

Waaaaaaaaaaa.
(fall on floor kicking and wailing)

Spucatum Tauri
Manager
gullible.com

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Within 15 minutes I got the following email back.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Dear Spucatum,

Hong Kong Da Tai Co.,Ltd want to register the following domain name:
www.gullible.cn
www.gullible.com.cn
www.gullible.hk
www.gullible.com.hk
www.gullible.asia
Internet brand: gullible

If your company did not authorize them to register, so the action of Hong Kong Da Tai Co.,Ltd belong to grab your company’s internet resource. According to the procedure of registering openly, these domain name have not been registered. So Hong Kong Da Tai Co.,Ltd now can register them. But your company is the brand’s original owner. So you have a priority right to register.

In priority of time before the end of, if your company do not want other to register them, you must register them. And i will send you an application form to fill out. Our disputed department will use it to reject Da Tai’s application and help your company to register it firstly.

If you think that they are not important, and want to give up the right, we will do the rest of work according to working procedure. help Da Tai company to finish the registration.

2010-03-11
Brian Wang

Registration Department Manager

Tel:+86-21-6296-2950

Fax:+86-21-6296-1557

Email:brian@ygurl.cn

Internet:www.ygurl.cn
发件人: Domain Administrator
发送时间: 2010-03-11 13:01:02
收件人: brian
抄送:
主题: Re: gullible

_____________________________________________________________________________________

How much do you intend to squeeze me for?

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Dear Spucatum,

The attachment is an application form, which include the registration time and fee, If need to register it, please fill out and send me back. After we have received your completed form, our registration department will finish the registration for you according to the information on the form.

2010-03-11
Brian Wang

Registration Department Manager

Tel:+86-21-6296-2950

Fax:+86-21-6296-1557

Email:brian@ygurl.cn

Internet:www.ygurl.cn

◇Shanghai Yi Guan Information Technology Co.,Ltd◇

Internet Brand & Domain Name Application Form

Internet Brand

gullible

口 69$USD/years

Domain Name

www.gullible.cn

口 19$USD/years

www.gullible.com.cn

口 19$USD/years

www.gullible.hk

口 39$USD/years

www.gullible.com.hk

口 39$USD/years

Domain Name

www.gullible.asia

口 49$USD/years

Corresponding Website (URL)Http://

Registration Period

口5years 口10years 口15years

Reason for Application

Promote company trademark or name on the internet 口

Protect company trademark or name on the internet 口

The Administrator of Domain Name:

*Admin Name

*Name of Company

_____________________________________________________________________________________

I like how they sell the Internet Brand separately from the domains.

I didn’t know you could buy an internet brand!

Also Notice the Registration period only has the option of 5, 10, 15 years.

Anyway I hope people Google before they buy!

March 15,

Came across this article as well documenting this problem

Categories: domain names, scam Tags: , , ,